Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Watching Individuals Make Bad Decisions

As I have been working today, I have also been dealing with a personal situation concerning a friend who has dropped out of sight.  While it would not be appropriate to include too many details, I can say that he is making a series of bad decisions and there is nothing that any of us who care about him can do to force him to make responsible decisions.  We have done what we can.

As professors, we also need to accept the reality that there are some students whom we cannot save.  We can only provide them with the opportunity to do well.  In spite of our best efforts, there will be some students who will make bad decisions.  Accepting this reality does not mean that we have an excuse to do nothing.  We need to try to intervene.  But at a certain point it becomes the students–or my friends–responsibility to make responsible decisions.


Some of today’s reading:

  • Andrea Doucet’s “Scholarly Reflections on Blogging: Once a Tortoise, Never a Hare” (Chronicle of Higher Education, 3 January 2012) was a great read that helped me clarify my thoughts on micro-blogging and blogging in general. Because I have not been in the publish or perish situation, I did not have as much difficulty as Doucet did in beginning Etena Sacca-vajjena. But I appreciated her clarification. I also think that her article is accessible to students who might do blogging as part of their course requirements.
  • Robert Talbert’s “Three Things I learned about Teaching by Taking a Short Course” (Chronicle of Higher Education, 3 January 2012) supports my bias that some of the best professional development is to take a class or learn a skill that is not directly related to our discipline. I did post a short comment in the discussion.
  • I have finally finished the introduction to Cathy Davidson’s Now You See It.

Video:

The No Underwear Subway Ride which was faked by Improv Everywhere as well as the Uncensored No Underwear Subway Ride could be good to show in film class.  It might even work in a critical thinking exercise.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

