Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Random Thoughts

Notes for Teaching Freaks

When I was writing yesterday’s reflection, I commented that contemporary nudity is more provocative than historic nudes.   In the draft, I included text about when Attorney General Ashcroft had drapes made for some marble statues at the Justice Department.   Then, I went to check the date and details.  When I read “Justice Department Covers Partially Nude Statues” (USA Today, 29 January 2002), I discovered that “The department spent $8,000 on blue drapes that hide the two giant, aluminum art deco statues, said spokesman Shane Hix.”  Were I writing in a private journal, I would not have taken the time to check this detail.  But even though I am not producing polished prose in my Microblog, publication has higher standards than private notes.

An exchange in Facebook could lead to an amusing blog on the value of research. (Photo Credit: St Stev)

Me [while posting photograph to left]:  “It’s not easy to pick a favorite friend, a best dress, a pair of stilettos or a favorite celebrity. But a sister? Oh, I could just shut my eyes and take your name. Happy Birthday dearie.”

Friend:  Bwa-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! Steve, where did you find this picture of these scary sisters? Thanks for the birthday chuckle!

Me:  And some students think that my emphasis on developing their research skills is over rated. Little do they know what they can find.

Friend:  …and little do they know what they will experience under your tutelage! G’night, dear Sister!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

