Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Reflection on Microblogging

Until the week of the LAND Conference for which I was doing registration, things were going well with my Microblog.  However, during the past week, I have not been posting–although on some days I do have partial notes recorded on the blog as well as notes on paper.

During the past couple of days, I have been trying to determine what this means.  Can I keep up the Microblog?  Is it too much?  How long past the date is it acceptable for me to post blog entries from my notes?

My conclusion is that the blog has been serving as a valuable too for me.  Falling behind during one unusual week is not a failure.  Nor does it mean that I cannot keep up with the Microblog during typical times.

Because the blog is primarily a way for me to reflect on my own development, I can post as far back as I desire as long as I am being fair to my current thoughts for the day I was posting.  This means that if I have spent several days reflecting on or developing my thoughts, I either need to make a note on the blog entry or to record them at a later time.  For example, I have been reflecting on Kurt Troutman and George Maniates’ “Empowering Students to Participate in their Educations.”  Where I to spend time in the Microblog reflecting on this session, it would not be appropriate for me to date those reflections as if they took place on 17 February 2012.

On the other hand, if I simply transcribed my notes with minimal commentary from William Thelin’s “Critical Learning for Open Access Students,” it would be appropriate to date the Microblog for February 17 even though it will be two or more days after I took those notes to write them into the blog.

Given that I am trying to record the development of my thinking as well as organizing some of my notes, I think that such an approach is appropriate.

The important thing for me is to not lose momentum on the blogging.  It would be too easy for me to obsession about catching up that I would not complete today’s task.  As a result of the ever increasing backlog, I would become overwhelmed and stop Microblogging completely.  That would be a lose for me.  Eventually, I might decide not to try to catch up on some of the missing days.  But because I have told myself that I am going to blog (almost) daily, that is acceptable.

I do not know what I will finish this evening or tomorrow or the next day.  But so far the Microblogging is beneficial and I do not want to give it up.

I posted a long comment “Creating an Office that is Inviting to Students” as a response to Trent Kays’ excellent “Reflections on Teacher Identity and Space” (HASTAC, 4 February 2012).

Ernesto Priego’s “On Sharing With the Right People, or Why Online Metrics to Assess ‘Impact’ Should Be Qualitative (T00)” (HASTAC, 30 January 2012).  I really liked Priego’s metaphor of action figures to explain crowd sourcing.  But his discussion of metrics was beyond my ability to understand.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

