Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Courtesy

Today, Ruth was scheduled to have surgery on her toe.  We were up bright and early to get her to the clinic by 6:00am.  The building was hot.  The operating theater was hot.  As a result, they were unable to perform the surgery.

Unfortunately, they had begun to put Ruth under before the decision was made to cancel surgeries.  As she was in the recovery room, her doctor, a nurse, and the head nurse all came to the room to offer their apologies.  They also gave Ruth a $25 gift certificate.

As we were heading home, Ruth was telling me how nice it was that they came to apologize.  Even without the gift certificate (which one could argue was not nearly enough to compensate for the inconvenience), Ruth would have been very pleased with her treatment because she had been treated kindly.

I find that students generally cut me a great deal of slack in ways that they do not for some of my colleagues.  For example, one day last semester a student came to my office to see if I was coming to class.  I initially thought it was an odd request because class did not begin for another 10 minutes.  Then I realized that I had confused my teaching days and that class was supposed to have started 20 minutes earlier.

My students laughed at me when I walked into class—but they had waited 20 minutes for me.

Because I am understanding of them, they give me the same courtesy.

Another day of catching up on my reading while avoiding writing the section of my evaluation on “Professional Development.”  I have had a few false starts the past couple of days and then continued to have more today.  Furthermore, I did not get as much reading time as I had hoped so that did not go as well as planned either.

Aaron Bobrow-Strain’s “What Would Great Grandma Eat?” (Chronicle of Higher Education, 26 February 2012) is a fascinating history of bread.  It investigates socio-economic, culture, immigration, and other issues.

Daniel Malamund and Randy Malamund’s “Not Your Dad’s Science Films” (Chronicle of Higher Education , 19 February 2012) would be a good film review to share with students.  It also discusses a type of film that I don’t generally watch.

Mitch Smith’s “Investigative, or Yellow.”  (Inside Higher Education, 1 March 2012) presents an interesting discussion of ethics and pedagogy as it relates to journalism.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

