Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Welcome to my Nightmare (and Dream)

I have been having an amusing conversation in Facebook throughout the day.

Steven L. Berg:  Your influence has expanded beyond the classroom. I have a student in my office who just informed me that you appeared in one of his dreams last night. Cheers.

Glenn Sunshine: Dreams or nightmares?

Glenn, The student only remembered that you were in random segments and could not recall details. However, I believe it was more of a nightmare. The student is not a great fan of yours and he does not particularly like your world view. The ironic part is that he had been very engaged by your writing and you are pushing him to greater self awareness and being a better critical thinker. Between the two of us, I think we sometimes cause his head–and the heads of other students–to hurt. 🙂

Glenn Sunshine:  Steve, I had a mentor at Calvin College when I taught there who told me that if I didn’t have students who absolutely hated me, I probably wasn’t teaching them anything worthwhile. I suppose that means if I’m giving some of your students nightmares, that means that there’s a possibility that I’m teaching them something of value. In all seriousness, if I can help you get them thinking, that’s all to the good as far as I’m concerned, whether they like what I’m saying or not.
Steven L. Berg: Because you write from such a strong faith tradition, it is too easy for many students to want to dismiss you; something I will not permit them to do. They don’t have to agree with you, but they cannot treat you lightly. Furthermore, because we are of different faith traditions, I can press your arguments and points of view without coming across as if I am proselytizing or trying to convert them. I think it would be great if we could team teach a class. Imagine how we could get students thinking!
Glenn Sunshine: I agree–that would be a lot of fun!
Being able to use Dr. Sunshine’s work in my classes  works well on many levels for reasons mentioned in the conversation above.  Also, we share many premises such as the fact that we are both concerned that Americans are losing our sense of history.  I think it would be very exciting if we could co-teach a class.  Students would really benefit from having that combination.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

