Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Random Thoughts

I have been thinking of a couple of issues which could serve as future essays.  One concerns a reflect on No Exit where people make their own Hells.  For a number of reasons, I have been considering how people in a bad situation will decide to stay in the situation even when given the opportunity to make improvements in their lives.  There are a variety of reasons for this.  In writing, I need to be careful not to give away identifying details from some situations about which I am thinking.  But I also need enough details to make it helpful for students who would be the intended audience.

Another issue about which I was thinking was inspired by a program I heard on National Public Radio concerning how the parable of the vineyard is being used to show that God and the Bible are against unions. I looked up the article tonight and found it is Barbara Bradley Hagerty’s “Christians Debate:  Was Jesus for Small Government?” (16 April 2012)  I was not interested in commenting on the substance of the article.  Instead, I was thinking about how the parable applied to working with students who had difficulty in a course but are eventually able to demonstrate the core competencies.  Do they earn the same grades and students who were successful throughout the semester?

This evening, I bought a new French Provincial table and chairs to match the French Provincial Furniture that Ric has.  The room is almost completely remodeled and it looks wonderful.  It has become such a relaxing room.

We have not yet eaten a meal at the new table.  We had set it up after we had eaten.  But I already feel so special each time I enter the room.

I really liked my home before we began the remodeling.  But I am enjoying it so much more given the changes we are making.  It has even become more welcoming as well as relaxing.

I am sure that there are essays concerning the tansformation as well.  However, it is soon time for bed and I don’t want to think that hard.

Today we began a review of the history department.  I sent an e-mail out to my colleagues concerning some of the issues we need to discuss.  The next steps are to create a series of e-mail messages–one for each topic–that can be used to organize the discussion threads.  Although I have no interest in discussing these issues publicly at this time, I can say that I am looking forward to the discussions; something that has not always been the case.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

