Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Playing a Dr. Who Adventure to Learn History

Last week, I saw a student in the library doing research for a Dr. Who: Adventures in Time and Space adventure set in Roanoke.  I have no idea what this actually means, but today I asked the student if it was something that we could do in American History class during Spring semester.  He said, “Yes.”  So I asked him to run the game during the second day of class.

Tonight, the student posted a Facebook note to his geek friends asking for their advice and assistance.  As part of the ensuing discussion, he explained, “The instructor hopes this will help get the class to know one another and learn something in the process. If I do it correctly it should do just that.”  One of his friends replied, “odd but i approve.”

I guess that playing Dr. Who is a bit odd.  But I think that it should work.  I have faith in the ability of the student whom I asked to prepare this lesson.  I hope that the students in the class will also approve.  As one of my student’s friends wrote, “if there is more then one person exited to do this people should be more open about the idea.”  Well, there will be at least one person excited–The Professor.

This is not the first time I have worked with a student to give an introductory presentation.  This semester, I began American history with an excellent presentation by a student based on a video I had never watched.  It was a great way to set the tone for the course.

I can’t imagine what it is like to play a Dr. Who game.  But I guess that I am about to learn.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

