Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Tommy Tucker’s Tooth

One of the benefits of co-teaching with students is that I learn so much. Today, I saw a film I had not seen before; one that adds to my understanding of film history and which could be incorporated in future courses.

As part of an excellent presentation on story, two students screened a 1922 Disney documentary called Tommy Tucker’s Tooth.  The film was made at Disney’s Laugh-O-Gram Studio. Disney began the studio in May 1922 and filed for bankruptcy in July 1923.  Disney was paid $500 to produce Tommy Tucker’s Tooth.

While watching the film, I thought about the 1940s and 1950s hygiene films with which I am more familiar.  It could also be shown as a counterpoint to more well known Disney films.

Today began end of semester conferences.  During the conferences, students have the opportunity to show off their projects, state their accomplishments, and hear from me–and their colleagues–how well they are doing.  It is a great way to end the semester.

I have been asked to do a Dhamma talk for the Children’s Vesak on May 13.  Two years ago I gave a talk based on a Jataka story.  I look forward to reading Jataka stories which I could use for a similar purpose this year.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

