Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Returning to Work

Today I returned to work.  With the exception of reading Felipe Fernandez Armesto’s Near a Thousand Tables: A History of Food and Stewart Lee Allen’s In the Devil’s Garden:  A Sinful History of Forbidden Food, I have not been doing much work during the past couple of weeks as I have dealt with the illness and death of my neighbor and friend as well as some related issues.

I got 400+ e-mails out of my in-box, worked on our history department review, and started to catch up on reading my newspapers.  It feels good to be back at work and getting into my schedule again.

Over the weekend, I started reading Facebook again and yesterday I was able to get back to my yard.  I would have done some more yard work today but it was simply too hot.

I had also stopped lifting weights and started doing that again today.

There are times when a crisis enters our lives and we have to deal with it.  However, it is too easy to allow circumstances to derail our life and to get too far off track.  Taking time off during the past two weeks has been fine. There was nothing wrong with it.  But, at a certain time, it is important to get back into one’s routine as best one can.

Warner, John.  “What We Do, Not What We Know.”  Inside Higher Education.  18 July 2012.

Davis, Lennard J.  “Against Reading Lists.”  The Chronicle Review.  16 July 2012.

Malamund, Randy.  “Vengeful Tiger, Glowing Rabbit.”  The Chronicle Review. 23 July 2012.

Lord, Alexandra M.  “Writing for History Buffs.”  The Chronicle of Higher Education.  (9 July 2012).

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

