Microblog

of Dr. Steven L. Berg

Poor Professional Development

The first day of classes went well.  It was the calmed first day I remember having.

Because I had been preparing for my classes, I did not take the time to reflect on professional development days.  One of the presentations was particularly disappointing.  At the beginning of his 1.5 hour talk, the presenter announced that there would not be time for questions.  Then, he began showing his poorly prepared PowerPoint slides.  They were back text on a white background and violated best practices by having far too many words and lines on each page.  Then, to make matters worse, he read the slides to us.

I don’t know what they paid this guy.  But I have had students produce far superior work.  In fact, I would not accept such poor quality from my students.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

